1000 Gold Coins. A True Story

God is in everything

A rich man decided to give 1000 gold coins to the poor but he did not know what poor people he should give the money to.

He came to a priest and said, “I want to give 1000 gold coins to the poor but I do not know who to give it to. Take the money and distribute among who you know”.

The priest said, “It’s a big money and I also do not know who to give it to: may be I will give much to one and little to another. Tell me to what poor people and how much I should give you money?”

The rich man said, “If you do not know who to give the money to, God knows: who will come to you first, give him the money”.

There lived a poor man in the same parish. He had many children but he was ill and could not work. Once the poor man was reading a psalm-book and read the following words: “I was young and became old and did not see any righteous person left [by God] and his children asking for bread”.

The poor man thought, “And I am left by God! But I have not done anything wrong. Let me go to the priest and ask him how it is that such a wrong thing is said in the Scripture”.

He went to the priest. The priest saw him and said, “This poor man came to me first” and gave me all 1000 gold coins of the rich man.

By Leo Tolstoy, Russian writer (Translation by the Author of the blog)

Thought for the day: “Isa Vasyam Sarvam – everything is vested in God” (Isa Upanishad).

photo by the author of the blog

Leave a Reply

